top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

DIY Activity Boxes for Your Toddler (that will cost close to $0)

Updated: Jun 14, 2021


Do you need some fresh new activities or playtime ideas for your baby or toddler? As an alternative to going out to buy even more toys (and to keep your sanity during quarantine time), here are three different activity boxes for your little one, using things that you probably already have around the house or can get at the Dollar Store.


These busy boxes have been a really big hit at my house, and all I did was group together items we already in a way that would encourage play. I store them in the kitchen, so that when I’m cooking dinner or cleaning up, my son has an activity that keeps him entertained. Another great thing about these activity boxes is that they are extremely portable and can go with you anywhere in the house.


These boxes are super cheap and pretty easy to make. Once you get a feel for what your child gravitates to, you can get creative and come up with your own themes! It has been fun for me to see my son use the items in the box in new ways as he develops new skills or starts thinking "outside the box." I hope you have as much fun making these as I did. Below is a breakdown of what is in each activity box, and here's a link to the 15qt clear bins from Target that I use (but any type of bin can work.)


 

POM POM ACTIVITY BOX



Pom pom variety pack

Measuring cups

Measuring spoons

Ice cube tray

Funnel

Random cooking utensils


 

POSTING BOX

2 Plastic containers with lids

Popsicle sticks

Plastic lids (from gallon jugs, milk cartons, pouches… really anything)

Paper towel and toilet paper rolls

Ping pong balls

Empty plastic spice containers


 

PLASTIC EGG BOX



Plastic eggs

Pom poms turned into chicks (I cut up foam sheets as the beaks and feet and googly eyes) Old egg carton

Large Easter eggs


 

See these boxes in action on my YouTube Channel or by clicking the video below!



 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.

What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:


 

13 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page