top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

DIY Kid's Art Display

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

Looking for an easy (and cute!) way to display your child's artwork? Try this super simple and inexpensive rotating gallery wall.



We up-cycled five picture frames and hung them in the playroom. I love how it turned out!




The step-by-step directions are below or you can see a short how-to on my MamaSays YouTube channel. Link HERE!



 

SUPPLIES

  • Picture frames with the glass and backing removed

  • Chalk paint (Colors I used from Waverly Chalk Paint: Ocean, Pool, Silver Lining, and Antiquing Wax)

  • Paint brush (I love my chalk paint brush- similar one HERE)

  • 1/2 inch Eye screws (2 per frame)

  • Hammer

  • Fishing line

  • Scissors

  • Mini clothespins

 

THE HOW TO


Step 1

Paint your frames! You can go all one color or a rainbow of colors. We chose to do an array of blues for the playroom.


Chalk paint is the most user-friendly. I did two coats in one night and then painted a little antiquing wax in the frame creases for added dimension.



Step 2


Measure and mark the spot where you will place the eye screws so that when you string up the fishing line, everything is even. I measured down 1-inch on each side.



Step 3

Put the two eye screws in! I found it easiest to tap the eye screw a few times with a hammer, and then screw it in the rest of the way by hand.



Step 4

Cut a piece of fishing line (long enough to reach across the frame and tie at both ends), and string two mini clothespins through it.


You'll want to place the fishing line through the small silver hole.



Step 5

Tie the fishing line to the two eye screws so that the line is taut with two clothespins hanging in the middle ready for some artwork!


 

How'd it turn out?! Make sure you let me know in the comments.


My sweet husband hung up all of the frames yesterday, and they are currently doing a great job making our sparsely decorated playroom look less sparse (!).



My son is still pretty little and doesn't produce much artwork these days, but I think it will be perfect for when he' older and wants a place to display everything.



Happy crafting! Click on the hashtags to get more: #diy #toddleractivities


 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.


What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:


 

9 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page