top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

Is Your Baby Ready for Solids?

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

Starting your baby on solids is a big deal (and so exciting!)


We started our son on “real people food” at 5 months. His very first food was baby oatmeal but we also mashed up avocados, bananas, and berries and would steam and puree other fruits and vegetables like sweet potatoes and apples (one of his favorite foods). Little by little, as he began to get teeth and get better control of his hands, we started sharing the more baby-friendly parts of our meals with him. Our son’s transition to self-feeding made mealtime much more relaxing and feel a lot less like a chore.


Now, at 1-years-old, we love family mealtime! Our son usually eats the same things as us. Everybody eating the same thing makes food-prep a million times easier, gives us a fun shared experience, and actually makes my husband and I a lot more conscious about what we’re eating because our son will be eating it too! Of course, there is the occasion that we want to make something spicy or too difficult for our son to chew. On those days, he gets the special treat of macaroni and cheese, chicken nuggets, or scrambled eggs with a pre-cooked vegetable of some sort.

At times, baby’s move to solid food can be a bit daunting, but overall, I hope it’s a fun experience for you!


If you're interested, I talk a lot more about our adventures in solids, the transition into self-feeding, and different baby mealtime products that have actually worked for us in this video here!


(DISCLAIMER: What I have written about here and talk about in my video have been my personal experiences. Please always consult with your pediatrician on your baby’s health and habits!)





 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.

What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:


 


2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page