top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

Are Diaper Pails Worth It? | Dekor Hands-Free Diaper Pail Review

Updated: Jun 14, 2021


When my son was first born, we started out using a regular trash can for his nursery. Boy, was that a huge mistake! The trash filled up SO quickly and was SO smelly! I finally got my act together and ordered an actual diaper pail (after a whole year of suffering through using a regular trash can- what was I thinking???)


After reading through lots of reviews, I decided on the Dekor Classic Hands-Free Diaper Pail. I’m really happy with my purchase. Some of the highlights include easy (hands-free) open, toddler lock (which is a necessity for me because my son is very interested in trash cans for some strange reason), the bigger than normal trash can size makes it so you don’t have to constantly change the bag (diapers take up so much room!), and taking out a full bag is ridiculously EASY (the trash can uses a continuous flow bag that cuts off at custom lengths from the bottom so you don’t have to smell the yucky stuff inside). They seriously thought of everything with this diaper pail.


One negative is that the odor capture isn’t perfect. Usually, you can’t smell that it’s diaper trash, but sometimes when the trash is getting close to full, there can be a slight odor. To me it’s not the end of the world because it normally does a good job of keeping things fresh, plus I always need a little extra encouragement to take out the trash. Additionally, this trash can is on the lower cost spectrum of many diaper pails out there. There are some other pails on the market that really highlight their odor blocking ability, but they’re pretty pricey. I think the quality of the Dekor is great. The bag refills are also extremely economical. The trashcan came pre-loaded with trash bags, we’ve had it for about two months, and I haven’t had to purchase a bag refill yet.


Maybe you’re up in the air about whether or not to even get a trash can specifically meant for diapers. You don’t have to buy the Dekor diaper pail, but PLEASE get some type of diaper pail. You’ll thank me later (especially once your baby starts eating solids!) A diaper pail is a definite must because of the odor control, size, and hands-free capabilities that most of them come with. I hope this video helps!


 


Do you have any nursery/ baby gear must-haves? Leave your thoughts in the comments!


 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.

What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:


 

5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page