top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

Everything You Need for Your Beach/ Pool Vacay with Baby

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

Bringing your baby or toddler to the beach is so exciting but also a little daunting at the same time. My tendency is always to over pack, but sometimes that’s just not realistic- especially if you’re flying on a plane. Also, it's not very pleasant to lug a bunch of stuff up and down the sandy beach. Our family loves the water, so we've been able to learn a lot from trial and error as to what works and doesn't work for your baby at the pool and the beach.



 

PART 1: The Beach


Infant

I made the mistake of packing and stressing out way too much before our first beach trip as a family of 3. If I could do it over again, I wouldn't have purchased half the things I brought with me. I wouldn't have even bothered buying my son a bathing suit. It turned out that he was very content to lay in the shade, watch the other kids play, and occasionally have his toes dipped in the water. He didn't touch the beach toys and blow up pool I packed. Learn from my mistakes- this is what I would say was worth packing (in addition to regular baby things like diapers, change of clothes, etc.):

  • Portable shade: Babies shouldn't wear sunscreen before they're six months old, so portable shade is essential. We used this beach tent that ended up being a lifesaver. My son napped and played in the tent the majority of the time, and the other children that were at the beach with us would sit in it to rest or eat snacks. I was also able to enjoy a little privacy for breastfeeding. AND it was pretty easy to set up. Bonus!

  • Hat: Maybe this is obvious, but definitely don't forget to pack a hat! We get one that ties under the chin so it stays on when our son is playing, and it's also harder to pull off. It also has a flap to protect the pack of their neck.

  • Portable fan: Living in the South, our stroller fan has been indispensable during the summer months. We ended up bringing it with us to the beach as well. It kept my son a little cooler, and it doubled as a source of entertainment because he loved to watch the blades spin (win-win). Depending on how hot it is when you're at the beach, this might not be necessary, though.


Older Baby/ Toddler

I loved bringing my little infant to the beach for the first time, but things definitely got more fun once he could do more!

  • Portable shade: For the full details on why portable shade is a must, read the infant list above. Basically, it's the best ever, and I will always bring a tent to the beach forever, even without kids.

  • Baby swim clothes: Rash guard, hat, and shoes- my son basically lives in NATIVES during the summer. They can get super dirty (or sandy), and then I just rinse them off at the end of the day.

  • Blow up pool: We bought a really cheap one at Walmart and situated it half in the shade of our tent and half out. It's a nice break from the ocean where I don't have to be as on my toes looking out for my son, but he's still playing in the water and can take a little break from the sun. It was a big hit with the other little ones as well.

  • Sunscreen: After the FDA came out with their preliminary studies on certain active ingredients in sunscreen being absorbed into the bloodstream, I've been a little more picky on what sunscreen I buy for my family. I wouldn't say that I've changed my whole life or anything, I've just been a little more cautious. I'm trying to avoid sunscreens with oxybenzone and octinoxate. Right now we're using Beach Bum and Baby Bum sunscreen. They dont have those two ingredients, they rub in well, and are easy to find at most stores.

  • Beach toys: The good news is that the beach is already a super fun place without accessories, so I usually just pack a ball, a bucket, a shovel, and my son's beloved stacking cups (my son has loved these stacking cups since he was about 6 months old- we always travel with them. They're especially fun in the bath or the pool). If you're feeling a little extra, I've heard really good things about this Melissa and Doug Sand Ice Cream Play Set. I've been eyeing them since since our son was really little, and I think I'm going to get the set for our next beach vacation.


 

PART 2: The Pool



Infant

Usually a trip to the pool is a little less involved than a trip to the beach. Before I visit a pool, though, I try to make sure that there is going to be a shaded spot where I can camp out with my little one every now and then because, again, babies below 6 months aren't supposed to wear sunscreen, so shade is your friend. Here are a few helpful things to bring for your baby on your trip to the pool:

  • Towel and change of clothes

  • Swim clothes: rash guard, swim diapers, and a hat. The pool usually doesn't have the breeze that the beach does, and it can get super hot. Even though I didn't really go in the ocean much when my son was a super little baby, he definitely came in the pool with me, so he needed some baby swim gear for that.

  • Infant float: There are lots of different kinds of baby floats out there, and I think they are all pretty similar. Before my son could support his upper body, we got this float that he could lay down in with a canopy for shade. It was really helpful to have! It meant I didn't have to carry him the whole time we were in the pool, he enjoyed being gently spun around in it, and he even fell asleep in the float on occasion. Especially if you have other little ones to keep an eye on, this is a good hands-free option while everyone is in the pool together.


Older Baby/ Toddler

With infants, I want to make sure that there's shade. For older babies and toddlers, the best pools are zero entry pools because it gives little ones a fun and safer place to play in the shallows. Here are some other things to make sure you don't forget:

  • Towel and change of clothes (I think this is obvious?)

  • Swim clothes: Swimsuit/ rashguard, swim diapers, a hat, shoes that can get wet (again, we love Natives).

  • Swim vest/ arm floaties: We just got my son a swim vest with little arm floaties. He's not even close to being able to float around on his own yet, but it's an extra layer of safety when he's running around outside the pool, and it does make it easier to hold and play with him when we're together in the pool.

  • Float: I go back and forth on this one. We have the kind of float where the baby can put his or her legs through the bottom. In my experience, he doesn't ever stay in the float for very long stretches of time. However, he does love playing this game where the turtle (our float is shaped like a turtle) "sneaks" up on him, and then he pushes it away. Overall, I would say that if you have a pool or a pool in your neighborhood it might be worth getting because the short times that he does stay in the float are a nice break. Also, there's the chance that your baby loves being in it.

  • Pool toys: I try to keep this to a minimum. When my son was 10 months old, we went to an all-inclusive resort in Cancun. The only water toys I brought for him were his stacking cups and a set of measuring spoons. It seriously entertained him the whole week that we were there! I would probably also include a ball on this list and maybe some Little People figures. There are also some fun options in the Target dollar section during the summer months.


 

Do you have any beach or pool must haves? If so, let me know in the comments!


Also, check out my YouTube video below to get more detail on my family's pool and beach experiences, plus some more insight into what to bring and what not to bring along.



 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.

What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:

 

8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page