top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Yates

Top 5 Outdoor Toys for the Summer

Updated: Jun 14, 2021



The weather is nice, we recently moved to a house with a yard, and we're still not going to too many public places. With all that, our outdoor toddler toy collection has grown pretty quickly over the past few weeks. It went from taking up a little corner of the garage to, "maybe we need to buy a shed." I'm still wondering where we're going to keep everything, but I've had so much fun watching my son play outside and learn new things!


Here are some of our favorites and why we love them:


 

Little Tikes Cozy Truck Ride-on


The Little Tikes truck has probably been my son's favorite by far. We were barely even able to put it together because he was so eager to jump right in! His favorite features are the horn that honks, the door he can open and close, and the little truck bed that he pus his outdoor treasures in (mostly rocks). Even though his feet can't touch the ground yet, he still LOVES this truck. I'm excited for him to enjoy it even more (if that's possible) when he can propel it himself.


We use it when we go on family walks as well. A huge bonus is that you do not need to bend down to push it along, and it also includes parent cup holders (!)


 

Little Tots T-Ball Set


My husband and son play with this t-ball set together, and it's so cute! My son mostly likes to run after the balls that my husband hits, but slowly he's starting to get a little better at hitting the ball himself.


The set comes with two plastic "baseballs," a base, a tee, and a bat. Another nice feature is that everything fits together into the base and is able to be hung up on a wall in the garage for easy storage.





 

Step2 Rain Showers Splash Pond Water Table

This water table was our first outdoor toy purchase. It was a great investment because we play with it everyday!


I chose this specific water table because I liked that it was big enough for multiple kids to play with at the same time, it had some fun features and extras (like little animals that squirt water) but still enough space for more imaginative play, and I thought my son would really enjoy the rain feature. Another perk of this table is that he's pretty good at playing with it independently. I just have to provide the adult supervision.


My son goes through different phases of which part of the water table he likes to play with the most. At first he only wanted to make it rain. Then, he loved putting the little animal in the catapult. Right now, he loves to fill up the purple bucket and water all our plants.


 

Little Tikes Gas 'n Go Lawn Mower

My little guy LOVES walkers. Toy lawn mowers are basically outdoor walkers, so I thought this would be a perfect purchase for him. He doesn't use it to much on our grass (We have St. Augustine grass, and after about two days past the last mow, it gets

too difficult for my son to push the mower. However, we have tried it on other types of grasses, and it seems to work perfectly fine.- something to keep in mind), but my son does love to push the mower all over the sidewalks in our neighborhood.


The mower has little balls that pop when the wheels turn. It also has a switch and key turn near the handle that little ones love to manipulate. My son's favorite part is definitely the pull start, though. We'll be walking along, he'll stop out of the blue, pull it a few times, and keep walking. It's for sure one of his favorite features. We also have to pull out this lawn mower every time my husband mows the lawn because he has to be just like "dada."


 

Step2 Game Time Sports Climber and Slide


This little jungle gym has a slide, a wall with foot holes for climbing, a basketball hoop, mini basketball, and a crawl-through space. Added bonus- It was very easy to set up.


We've only had it for about a week now, but it's been really fun to see my son progressively learn how to use the different features. The first day we had it, he only used the slide, and that was after we would lift him up to it. Today, he figured out how to climb up the "easy climb" side all by himself! It seems like a great toy to help develop his motor skills and maybe (I hope) encourage a brave and adventurous spirit.



 

About Mama Says

I'm Lauren, a wife and mom living in Texas. I love coffee dates, game nights, football season, and bike rides.


I heavily rely on the wisdom and knowledge of other moms. Whether it's a serious topic such as discipline or something more mundane (but just as vital to my sanity) like, "Is there a diaper that my son won't pee through in the middle of the night?!," my community of fellow moms has been vital. The motto for Mama Says is "leaning into everyday mom life," and I hope that the content here helps you in some small way as you work each day loving and raising little humans.

What you can expect from Mama Says- DIYs, recipes, kid product reviews, activity ideas, parenting tips and tricks, and regular life stuff.

 

For more fun ideas, follow me:


 

8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page